• Lucid Dreaming - Dream Views




    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
    Results 26 to 50 of 200
    Like Tree425Likes

    Thread: Lucid Dreaming book reviews and recommendations

    1. #26
      Dream Bender Filtereyez's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      LD Count
      2
      Gender
      Location
      Washington State, U.S.A.
      Posts
      4
      Likes
      6
      Thanks for your input gab, I in fact have all but one of the books you have mention. OBE's are kind of my forte so to speak as I have had them since a very early age (8 yr old) without any intentions of my own, and being from a small town with limited access to information (this back in the 70's) I pretty much waded through the waters on my own with only a few printed materials that were available to me at that time and even the authors back then were still discovering the ins and outs of OBE's so a good part of my early life was consumed in self study - information and the access we have to it today is such a wonderful thing no? I am very much still interested in OBE's so if you can think of any other recommendations please share and I can share mine as well if any are interested.

      Thank you for your post
      gab, Sammy15087 and balinup13 like this.

    2. #27
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator
      Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,477
      Likes
      10258
      DJ Entries
      725
      Thank you, filtereyez Yes, the information and it's availability is why I loooove technology and internet. I have some more books, but they were all mentioned in posts in this thread. I'll send you PM with some of my favorite websites. Happy dreams

    3. #28
      Lucid Elder God Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal Made lots of Friends on DV Referrer Bronze Tagger First Class 1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      Ctharlhie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      LD Count
      non-Euclidean
      Location
      R'lyeh
      Posts
      1,706
      Likes
      1670
      DJ Entries
      17
      Quote Originally Posted by gab View Post
      Thank you, filtereyez Yes, the information and it's availability is why I loooove technology and internet. I have some more books, but they were all mentioned in posts in this thread. I'll send you PM with some of my favorite websites. Happy dreams
      Could you pm those sites to me too please? I love devouring all the literature on lucid dreams that I can ^^
      mcwillis and Sammy15087 like this.
      My Lucid Dreaming Articles/Tutorials:
      Mindfulness - An Alternative Approach to ADA
      Intent in Lucid Dreaming; Break that Dry-Spell, Escape the Technique Rut

      Always, no sometimes think it's me,
      But you know I know when it's a dream
      I think I know I mean a yes
      But it's all wrong
      That is I think I disagree

      -John Lennon


    4. #29
      Member RommiH's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      LD Count
      7
      Gender
      Location
      Egypt
      Posts
      64
      Likes
      50
      DJ Entries
      37
      I recommend> Sleep and Dreaming: Scientific Advancements and Reconsiderations
      Last edited by RommiH; 05-26-2012 at 05:22 PM.
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    5. #30
      Member Achievements:
      1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      madvorak's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      LD Count
      141
      Gender
      Location
      Pardubice
      Posts
      199
      Likes
      36
      I recommend:
      Stephen LaBerge: Exploring the World of Lucid Dreaming
      Thomas Yuschak: Advanced Lucid Dreaming | The Power of Supplements
      I have read these 2 books and they are great.
      Sammy15087 likes this.
      DILD: 123 ; WILD: 10 ; DEILD: 9

    6. #31
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      174
      Likes
      81
      DJ Entries
      49
      I recommend:

      Robert Monroe - Journeys out of the body
      Carlos Castaneda - The Art of Dreaming

      = )
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    7. #32
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824
      Quote Originally Posted by Ctharlhie View Post
      Lucid Dreaming: Gateway to the Inner Self - Robert Wagonner, absolutely essential imo.
      absolutely..I totally second that!
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    8. #33
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824

      Lucid Dreaming Book Reviews

      Ive had this idea for a while and I think its time I bring it into reality.

      Idea: Read Lucid Dreaming books then provide concise and informative reviews. I have already read the major LD books like Laberge, Castenada, Waggoner, and Rinpoche, so I will save those for later.
      I just picked up two books from the library today.

      1. The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book: Using your dreams to solve problems, improve creativity, and understand yourself.
      Author: Michael R. Hathaway, DCH(Doctorate in Clinical Hypnotherapy)

      2. Banishing Night Terrors and Nightmares: A breakthrough program to heal the traumas that shatter peaceful sleep.
      Authors: Christopher Raoul Carranza and Jane Rogers Dill, Ph.d., L.M.F.T.(Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist), D.A.P.A.(Drug and Alcohol Program Advisor)

      Y'all can expect a review of each book in no more than two weeks. I hope to keep this going with other books as well. It is for my enjoyment, your information, and my own self education. I hope you all enjoy them as much as I will enjoy reading the books and writing the reviews.

      Sammy15087, Dodge631 and LDTools like this.

    9. #34
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Created Dream Journal Tagger Second Class Populated Wall 1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      dutchraptor's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      LD Count
      0 since my last
      Gender
      Location
      Tranquility
      Posts
      2,913
      Likes
      3042
      DJ Entries
      6
      That first sound very intresting
      Out of the other's I found that laberge's book was slightly outdated because I read it after I read through the entire site, but it did give me a few ideas.
      Waggoner's book was certainly intresting at parts but I tended to disagree with alot of what he said. Although I didn't like a majority of the chapters his book did make me more open to the idea of obe's and telephathy.
      I've found it hard to find a book in which the author doesn't go into too much occult things like AP and OBE's, so I hope that "The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book", cant wait to hear your review.

    10. #35
      Banned
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      LD Count
      000
      Gender
      Location
      Adelaide, South Australia
      Posts
      2,398
      Likes
      876
      DJ Entries
      113

      I'll do "Leaving the Body" by Scott Rogo.


      Hey chimpertainment and dutchrapter

      I'll do a report on the murdered D. Scott Rogo's 1983 book, "Leaving the Body: A Complete Guide to Astral Projection" It was the first book I ever read on lucid dreaming. Then he got murdered and I got sooo mad because I loved all his books and his engaging writing style.

      I bought that book a total of three time because I gave away two.

      Ha!

      The faded invoice is inside the yellowing pages of Leaving the Body. The reciept records that on December-11-2008 from Cosmic Pages I bought:

      $19:95 Leaving the Body
      $49:95 New Mythic Tarot
      $34:95 Astral Dynamics

      Wow! I still got all those books and Astral Dynamics is a lucid dreaming book too.

      Now I remember.

      This amazing guy called EyeOneBlack on another site back in 2008 opened a thread to discuss the book "Astral Dynamics". I ran around looking for it but wound up having to get Cosmic Pages to order it in for me. It took 6 weeks and by the time I got it noboby wanted to discuss it any more (boo-hoo-hoo).

      Anyway I will begin reading Leaving the Body by Scott Rogo and put together a review.

    11. #36
      Banned
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      LD Count
      000
      Gender
      Location
      Adelaide, South Australia
      Posts
      2,398
      Likes
      876
      DJ Entries
      113

      Dear Chimpertainment

      Here is the link to chapter 4 (best bits) of the book I will review for you called "Leaving the body" a complete guide to astral projection by the murdered D. Scott Rogo (1983)

      http://www.dreamviews.com/f19/leavin...2/#post1947374

      Sammy15087 likes this.

    12. #37
      Member Lahzo's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      LD Count
      15
      Gender
      Location
      Medina, Ohio, United States
      Posts
      188
      Likes
      86
      DJ Entries
      19
      Quote Originally Posted by Iapetos View Post
      I recommend:

      Robert Monroe - Journeys out of the body
      Carlos Castaneda - The Art of Dreaming

      = )
      It's funny that you mention Carlos Castaneda with the hype about Robert Wagonner, he mentions reading books by Castaneda in the earlier chapters of his book. Definitely have to check out some of Castaneda. ^_^
      MasterMind and Sammy15087 like this.
      Whatever you vividly imagine, ardently desire, sincerely believe, and enthusiastically act upon.. must inevitably come to pass. - Paul J. Meyer

    13. #38
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824
      glad to see there is some interest. Thank you for the link DebraJane!

      Unfortunately, my reading skills are not what they used to be so my reviews will be delayed by a week or so. I am about halfway through The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book and it has been pretty great so far. Soon and very soon, we shall have a review!
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    14. #39
      Member Achievements:
      Referrer Bronze Made lots of Friends on DV Populated Wall Vivid Dream Journal 1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class Tagger Second Class
      LucasPotter's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Gender
      Location
      São Paulo
      Posts
      1,056
      Likes
      860
      DJ Entries
      135
      I've found those books online today:

      The Art Of Lucid Dreaming: A Manual - Carolus M. den Blanken
      Lucid Dreams In 30 Days - Keith Harary, Pamela Weintraub
      Lucid Dreaming Manual - Marc VanDeKeere
      A Course In Lucid Dreaming - Stephen LaBerge
      Exploring The World Of Lucid Dreaming - Stephen LaBerge

      I've read enough of this thread to know that I should read LaBerge, but can anyone tell me if the other books are worth reading? At the moment, I plan on reading them, but if they're crap, I'd like to know so I don't waste my time...
      Sammy15087 likes this.

      Hurricane At The Sea (1850) and Shipwreck (1854) by Ivan Aivazovsky

      The dreamer formerly known as Angelpotter

    15. #40
      Member
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      LD Count
      hundreds
      Gender
      Location
      My apartment
      Posts
      54
      Likes
      16
      Are there any books out there that don't merely rehash what is already known? I'm looking for anything, even most obscure stuff, mystic or whatever.
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    16. #41
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Referrer Bronze Populated Wall Veteran First Class

      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Malmö
      Posts
      1,579
      Likes
      1473
      Books is a good motivation source and entertaining to read , but remember that you shouldn't relay on the techniques, but actually learn on your own.

      By doing that you don't only learn how to lucid dream but also how to do it regularly.

      So see through the techniques and see the core of the method or technique. For example when Waggoner or Castaneda's books tells you to look at your hands, it's not the act of looking at your hands that will make you aware of lucid, but the fact the fact that you intend to do something.

      Castaneda does however explain the intending in more detail, so I second Iapetos' (my own) suggestion..
      The Art of Dreaming is a very special book, but it's really good and I've read it five times
      Sammy15087 and LDTools like this.

    17. #42
      Member
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      LD Count
      hundreds
      Gender
      Location
      My apartment
      Posts
      54
      Likes
      16
      I'm not looking for techniques in books, they've been rehashed over and over, I want something else. Like about the nature of dreams and what can be done with their help. In other words, books on dreams are mostly advertising how great they are and how to attain them, but there's nothing new in them that wasn't said before anyway.

      Never read Waggoner, but Castaneda was among the first ones I read, and I'd say he's the most obscure author I've seen.

      I don't want to sound dismissive, so I'll explain my views a bit. As far as Castaneda is concerned, he presupposes something called intent to be the cause of "dreaming". If we match it to lucid dreaming, then it doesn't really fit in. Just remember the theory in another topic (about lucidity timing and RCs), it doesn't match his "intent" at all. According to Castaneda, all of whose books I read trying to understand him, intent is completely independant from desire or non-desire, from wanting something to happen or not wanting it to happen. But I think you can agree that causing LDs works because we want them to happen! So whatever he's writing about, it doesn't make sense to me, and I find him extremely obscure.

      I see Waggoner is popular, even though I've never heard of him, so I'll read him just to know what popular books talk about.
      Last edited by gab; 06-18-2013 at 06:18 PM. Reason: posts merged
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    18. #43
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Referrer Bronze Populated Wall Veteran First Class

      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Malmö
      Posts
      1,579
      Likes
      1473
      Don't try to overanalyze it by reading his exact words, just like a technique it's just a guidance not an exact way. The importance in the book however is the mindset that he presents not the actual technique.

      Take all the information you resonate with, leave the rest if you want to.
      zoth00, Sammy15087 and LDTools like this.

    19. #44
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824
      As usual I am a professional procrastinator...I have finished The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book and will be writing up a review shortly...
      dutchraptor and Sammy15087 like this.

    20. #45
      Member Daredevilpwn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      15
      Gender
      Location
      MD
      Posts
      493
      Likes
      375
      DJ Entries
      63
      Quote Originally Posted by Chimpertainment View Post
      As usual I am a professional procrastinator...I have finished The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book and will be writing up a review shortly...
      No review yet? Ah well take your time.....*5 months later......*
      Sammy15087 likes this.
      The best way to get revenge on someone for being mean to you is to counter their anger/hatred torward you with..niceness
      they can't stand it

    21. #46
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Created Dream Journal Tagger Second Class Populated Wall 1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      dutchraptor's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 2012
      LD Count
      0 since my last
      Gender
      Location
      Tranquility
      Posts
      2,913
      Likes
      3042
      DJ Entries
      6
      I think we need a new definition of shortly.
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    22. #47
      Member Daredevilpwn's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      15
      Gender
      Location
      MD
      Posts
      493
      Likes
      375
      DJ Entries
      63
      Indeed. His definition of shortly could be a couple of months as far as we know.
      Sammy15087 likes this.
      The best way to get revenge on someone for being mean to you is to counter their anger/hatred torward you with..niceness
      they can't stand it

    23. #48
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824
      hey sorry guys! I had to return the books to the library before I completed the review. Im still doing the everything lucid dreaming review however, and that will be done this weekend. This obviously hasnt been at the top of my priority list but I will get it goin here soon...Its about 1/4 of the way done...
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    24. #49
      Banned
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      898
      Likes
      824
      Book Review

      “The Everything Lucid Dreaming Book” Michael R. Hathaway, DCH. Copyright 2012.
      Price: $15.56 at Amazon.com ISBN: I-4405-2855-1

      This is an Exposition regarding the subject of Lucid Dreaming. It also comes with a CD of Guided Meditations to be used before sleep.


      Author’s Purpose: The author reasoned that while there are apparently a variety of lucid dreaming books, many are not accessible to most people. He also mentions that he tends to view the world in a different way than most people. This led him to write a book generalizing the common topics of lucid dreaming.

      The book is full of practical knowledge concerning lucid dreaming. The author outlines how one becomes lucid, and several techniques for beginners. He spends about a third of the book explaining how to become lucid and individual lucidity practices. Following the first five chapters, the author begins exploring benefits of lucid dreaming. They range from health benefits, to help with nightmares, to exploring mystical realms within dreams.
      The book is quite an easy read with large text and just under three hundred pages. The author refers to the reader as a she which I found unique. The author is very aware of accusations levied against certain fringe concepts in the book but seems to support them regardless. Even if you don’t believe or practice mystical exploration, or lucid healing, there is quality information in large quantities.
      To me, the book was very good at communicating the basic ideas of lucid dreaming. Every foundational aspect is outlined in great detail and provides a formidable structure for the reader to build upon. Anyone that picked this book up off the shelf would be able to learn lucid dreaming exclusively through the information held within. I plan to purchase the book myself to add to my library.
      In the meantime, I will be checking this book out of the library again very soon.


      I know this review is rather short, and I hope to write something more extensive in the future. My reading skills pretty much suck, so it takes me a while to get through a book. anyway, to a more productive future!
      Sammy15087 likes this.

    25. #50
      dreamwalker LucidMoon's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      LD Count
      about 3 a week
      Gender
      Location
      The Twilight Zone
      Posts
      120
      Likes
      119

      Quick book review: Are you dreaming?

      I promised a few of you guys i'd write a book review on this one, so here it is

      Are You Dreaming? - Exploring lucid dreams - A comprehensive guide.
      by Daniel Love

      For the record I read the paperback version but it's also on kindle. I bought mine on amazon: Are You Dreaming?: Exploring Lucid Dreams: A Comprehensive Guide: Daniel Love: 9780957497702: Amazon.com: Books

      Rating: 5/5 stars.

      Gonna keep this really short because i'm still processing the book having only just finished read it but maybe this'll be of use to someone These are my first thoughts.

      Basically I loved this book and highly recommend it to everyone. Covers LOADS of stuff and has WAY more in it than most of the other books on LDing that I've read recently. Is obvious that the writer really cares about LDing and is very experienced. Has some really cool ideas on the future of LDing too. It's nice also that it just reads really honestly and doesnt try and fool you into thinking you will be LD master really quickly without working at it. It says something like "learning to LD is like learning to play the piano - you get better with time and you need to work at it" which is so true but you dont often get experts being honest about this so that's really nice and refreshing.

      There are LOADs of interesting ideas and techniques in this book too many to talk about in a quick first impressions review but check out the look-inside bit on amazon and you'll see what I mean just by the size of the contents page!!!! it's not exagerating when it calls itself a comprehensive guide, it even mentions dreamviews!!

      OVerall this has gone instantly into my top list of LD books alongside ETWOLD. Actually this is the first book i've read since ETWOLD that has really impressed me or given me that fuzzy-warm excited feeling about lucid dreaming. Plus may be a coincidence but I've had loads of LDs whilst reading this!

      I've been lucid dreaming for years and I still learnt a lot I actually think it's probably aimed towards experienced lucid dreamers. I cant say how it'd be for a newbie but i'd put it on the same reading level as something like ETWOLD kinda sciency but also exciting and dreamy too. Is a good all round book that I think deserves 5/5 stars

      Hope this review is helpful sorry if its a bit short but i'm on my way to work and trying to type this on a touchscreen is tricky!!!!

      Linky... Are You Dreaming? - Amazon.com: Books

    Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Book Recommendations for Vibrational Energy
      By cytotoxicT in forum Beyond Dreaming
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 03-09-2013, 12:33 AM
    2. Book Recommendations
      By apsinvo in forum General Lucid Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 05-13-2011, 03:05 AM
    3. Book recommendations?
      By badassbob in forum Entertainment
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 07-26-2007, 03:48 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •