• Lucid Dreaming - Dream Views




    Results 1 to 13 of 13
    Like Tree14Likes
    • 4 Post By gab
    • 4 Post By Runeword
    • 3 Post By gab
    • 1 Post By Tiresias
    • 1 Post By gab
    • 1 Post By gab

    Thread: OBE books reviews and recommendations

    1. #1
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class 10000 Hall Points
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,567
      Likes
      10520
      DJ Entries
      780

      OBE books reviews and recommendations

      This is a thread for posting reviews and recommendations for OBE books. Please describe the book as much as you can.

      I'll start with these.

      The Secret of the Soul by William Buhlman. It's about using out of body experiences to understand our true nature.

      Some of the subchapter titles:
      - Consciously meeting departed loved ones, physical loved ones, animals, angels
      - Formed based or astral plane experiences
      - Interaction with guides, spheres of inteligent light
      - Vibrational state experiences, higher dimensional experiences
      - Feeling the presence of non-physical beings
      - Higher self
      - Spiritual healing
      - The thought responsive universe
      - OBE techniques
      - New vision of death and dying
      - Chakras
      - Multi-dimensional nature
      - Trance, vibrations, kundalini
      - Overcoming challenges - floating, being pulled or touched, poor vision, sinking, darkness, entities, fear, threatening presence, protection
      - Silver cord
      - Self realization, knowledge expansion
      - Past life revelations, visiting a future spiritual home
      - Energy membranes

      Multi-dimensional man by Jurgen Ziewe. - An authentic eyewitness account of the world that awaits us after death.

      This book is maybe 80% descriptions of realms he witnessed and rest of his explanation of what he saw. If you want to know how astral planes look like, this book is for you.

      Some of the chapters:
      - First steps into new dimensions
      - Alien life forms and civilizations
      - Past lives, ancient crimes
      - Knocking at the gates of Heaven, Man made obsticles,
      - The lower dimentsions -worlds of suffering - desolate places; escape from hell
      - The earth like dimensions - do dead have supermarkets; do they know they are dead
      - The intermediate dimensions - living the dreams; settlers on another planet
      - The higher dimensions - heavenly worlds; friendly people

      The Astral Dynamics by Robert Bruce. Great info about Astral planes, astral beings - good and bad ones, techniques and tons of other stuff.

      He has the only description of astral inhabitants that I was able to find.


      Link to free book posted online, also downloadable as pdf.
      Nosso Lar - The Astral City

      On that page, small link "video" on right side leads to complete movie subtitled in English.

      Astral city is a story of a man in the Astral city and his description of life in the "afterlife" is very interesting. He talks about what jobs you can do there, where do you live, how you socialize, etc.


      Link on the left side Peter Richelieu; A Souls Journey - on Afterlife and astral-trips at night we do not remember.
      This is a story of a guy who starts to astral travel with help of his guide. Among other things, he gets to participate in helping souls to cross over.


      I don't necessarily agree with everything in these books, but it's fun to read and think about different possibilities.

    2. #2
      Member Achievements:
      1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      Runeword's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Gender
      Posts
      229
      Likes
      105
      have to add here Robert Monroe's - Journeys Out of the Body. this man is considered to be one of the pioneers of the last century in OOBE work. he left a legacy behind after his death known as the Monroe Institute. this first book of his I consider a great starting point for readers as it contains a host of his personal experiences and experiments and also his methods. one thing I like in particular about him is he seems to have a very scientific mind so you don't feel like you're reading a bunch of hyped up "mystic" nonsense. like Gab says I dont necessarily agree with everything he writes but it's very interesting reading and at the very least will expand your thinking.

      another one i would recommend that pertains but from a viewpoint of near death experience is called Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander. this is written by a very scientific personality about his own experience and how it has changed his views about the big picture. i think i read through this in one night it was pretty compelling stuff. what i liked about it is that it was written by a total novice in the world of OOBE's and yet it matches up with so much of the other literature out there that's been written by the pro's.

      On a side note I'm thinking of ordering "Demystifying the Out of Body Experience" by Luis Minero. anyone read this yet? i've watched a few video interviews with him and he seems like the real deal.
      Valis1, xdr3amer, gab and 1 others like this.

    3. #3
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class 10000 Hall Points
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,567
      Likes
      10520
      DJ Entries
      780
      Quote Originally Posted by Runeword View Post
      ... Proof of Heaven by Dr. Eben Alexander.
      Ooh, this is very recent, from 2012 or 2011, right? Is it anything like Raymond Moody's Life after life?

      Sorry, I have not read the other book you asking about. But I can endorse your recommendation of Robert Monroe's - Journeys Out of the Body.

    4. #4
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Vivid Dream Journal 5000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class

      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Gender
      Posts
      734
      Likes
      662
      DJ Entries
      149
      Astral Odyssey by Carol Eby

      I have this on google play. Seems pretty good so far.

      Link: https://play.google.com/store/books/...1XMUd5NHNDIl0.

      Edit: You guys didn't recommend Adventures Beyond The Body by William Buhlman? Shame shame. Just kidding.
      Last edited by oneiroer; 03-26-2013 at 02:18 AM.

    5. #5
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Vivid Dream Journal 5000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class

      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Gender
      Posts
      734
      Likes
      662
      DJ Entries
      149
      I'm reading a book called Traveling by Alan Guiden. It's pretty interesting so far. There are 7 steps to an OBE according to him. I'm reading about the first part, desire. I'm really liking it. He makes the read funny too sometimes. Pretty easy read. You guys should check this book out and maybe let me know what you think. This book is also on google play.

      Edit: the other steps are: relaxation, visualization-destination, direct lift-out, awareness, travel, and return.
      Last edited by oneiroer; 03-28-2013 at 06:55 AM.

    6. #6
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class 10000 Hall Points
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,567
      Likes
      10520
      DJ Entries
      780
      free ebooks

      Treatise on Astral projection by Robert Bruce
      Excellent stuff on Astral planes, astral wildlife, how to, and everything astral. He used to have this on his old Astral dynamics website, which he replaced with his new web., sans these articles.

      OUT OF BODY EXPERIENCES: HOW TO HAVE THEM AND WHAT TO EXPECT BY ROBERT PETERSON

      ASTRAL PROJECTION/OOBE CLASS NOTES,
      CONDUCTED ON THE COMPUSERVE NEW AGE FORUM BY DONALD J. DEGRACIA, Ph.D.

    7. #7
      Fais Ce Que Tu Voudras Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal Tagger Second Class Referrer Bronze 1000 Hall Points Made lots of Friends on DV Veteran First Class
      Tiresias's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      LD Count
      Lost Count
      Gender
      Location
      Atlanta, Georgia
      Posts
      923
      Likes
      667
      DJ Entries
      9
      I have the revised issue of Astral Dynamics. Should I read that first or another on the list?
      gab likes this.
      Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. Love is the law, love under will.

    8. #8
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class 10000 Hall Points
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,567
      Likes
      10520
      DJ Entries
      780
      Quote Originally Posted by Tiresias View Post
      I have the revised issue of Astral Dynamics. Should I read that first or another on the list?
      I really liked these two:

      They are about how they stumbled upon OBE, their first steps, trials and errors, their thought process trying to make sense of it. Detailed notes on how they were exiting, how they found out how to travel, how to get where they wanted to go, figuring out if they see Real Time Zone or something else, making experiments visiting friends to prove they have actually visited them...

      William Buhlman's Adventures beyond the body.
      Robert Monroe's Journeys out of the body

    9. #9
      Fais Ce Que Tu Voudras Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal Tagger Second Class Referrer Bronze 1000 Hall Points Made lots of Friends on DV Veteran First Class
      Tiresias's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      LD Count
      Lost Count
      Gender
      Location
      Atlanta, Georgia
      Posts
      923
      Likes
      667
      DJ Entries
      9
      Excellent! Pretty sure I have Adventures Beyond the Body.
      Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. Love is the law, love under will.

    10. #10
      Member Achievements:
      1 year registered Referrer Bronze Veteran First Class 5000 Hall Points Made lots of Friends on DV
      acillis's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      446
      Likes
      46
      DJ Entries
      1
      Astral Projection: A Record of Out-of-Body Experiences
      by Oliver Fox

      the projection of the astral body by sylvan muldoon, old books very old but still very good imo

    11. #11
      Member Achievements:
      1000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      Runeword's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Gender
      Posts
      229
      Likes
      105
      the books that i've read compared with personal experiences i feel more and more that they are a ploy to get more book sales. if you read through the books and compare them to personal experiences you may start to feel that these people are banking extra cash on the hype of the astral projection experience compared to the lucid dreaming experience. coming from someone that has experienced all the symptoms of each side of this coin and spent time objectively experimenting on each side. be careful what you read and do some experimenting for yourself!
      Last edited by Runeword; 04-13-2013 at 10:57 PM.

    12. #12
      Oneironaut Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal Referrer Bronze Made lots of Friends on DV Populated Wall 5000 Hall Points Veteran Second Class
      VagalTone's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      LD Count
      weekly
      Gender
      Location
      Portugal ( Coimbra )
      Posts
      906
      Likes
      895
      DJ Entries
      35
      Michael Raduga - The Phase

      A very detailed book about all modalities of consciousness in the realm of sleep, which the author calls « The Phase».

      written in a very fresh, straightforward and pragmatic style. A very interesting website.

    13. #13
      gab
      USA gab is offline
      Administrator Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV Stickie King 25000 Hall Points Populated Wall Huge Dream Journal Referrer Silver Tagger First Class 10000 Hall Points
      gab's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      306 events
      Gender
      Location
      California Republic
      Posts
      9,567
      Likes
      10520
      DJ Entries
      780
      I just found this free OBE pdf

      It contains this:

      Chapter 3: Out of body experiences and lucid dreams: A phenomenological approach, Ed Kellog

      https://s3.amazonaws.com/obe-book-defoe/consciousness-beyond-the-body-2016.pdf

    Similar Threads

    1. Lucid Dreaming book reviews and recommendations
      By Aniseed in forum General Lucid Discussion
      Replies: 213
      Last Post: 03-09-2019, 10:21 PM
    2. I need your option on remee and your reviews?
      By LDking in forum Lucid Aids
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 12-01-2012, 09:17 PM
    3. Dream Reviews
      By Jess in forum Lucid Aids
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 10-23-2006, 12:16 PM
    4. Cd's Reviews
      By TimB in forum Entertainment
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 08-05-2006, 05:09 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •