• Lucid Dreaming - Dream Views




    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree6Likes
    • 2 Post By Idolfan
    • 1 Post By Rodrodrod
    • 1 Post By BugFolk
    • 2 Post By RebelSeven

    Thread: Contacting a guide (secular opinion)

    1. #1
      Theoretically Impossible Idolfan's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Gender
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,093
      Likes
      34
      DJ Entries
      5

      Contacting a guide (secular opinion)

      Seeing as this is something I saw people talking about on other forums as a teenager, I was wondering what people's opinions are on spirit guides, both for believers in actual spirits and from the more tame opinion that you have access to your unconscious mind, and therefore a manifestation of its wisdom in your dreams.

      I have had one experience from when I was a teenager. I had a lucid dream and asked to meet my spirit guide and I was taken to a spaceshippy looking room with a young girl in it who was blowing bubbles out of a pipe. But nothing was said.

      Since I don't believe in actual spirit guides I was at least wondering if there was some truth behind accessing something in your mind which knows you well and can help you; I will call it a spirit guide for convenience, and in case I'm wrong.

      If you can share your experiences, especially those which taught you a great deal, that would also be a help thanks.
      DreamCafe11 and Psionik like this.
      The starz...
      The planets...
      The intricate and dynamic machinery of nature...
      Are you saying,
      that all of this was created,
      BY A MONKEY??????

    2. #2
      Long Time Lucid Explorer Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV 3 years registered Tagger First Class Referrer Bronze Populated Wall 1000 Hall Points Huge Dream Journal
      <span class='glow_FF1493'>DawnEye11</span>'s Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Gender
      Location
      On A Special Star
      Posts
      1,267
      Likes
      3598
      DJ Entries
      456
      I like talking about guides but I don't believe their spirits. I do believe in shared dreaming though but even that is tuff to do. So it seems like running into a real being in a dream is rare. The young girl you mentioned sounds interesting. If only she spoke to you. I wonder what she would have said. Im going to post an experience I had when I wanted to talk to a dream guide.

      In my second dream I appeared in a random place in front of a entrance to a huge basement. There was a dark skinned lady who i met in my other dream about the ointment in the basement. She seemed really nice and welcoming as she was preparing for a party in the basement. I had a feeling she was going to tell me something about someone I knew though. I asked her is this about [insert name here]. She said yes. I than asked her if he was evil and she said yes. She told me to come down because she wanted to show me something. I was scared I was going to get bad news. I walked into a room with her that took us into a hospital. I told her I was scared but she reassured me it was going to be okay. We walked into a room and there were fat people being checked by a female doctor. The lady guide told me to sit down so i did. She said If I kept talking to this guy my skin will get paler, I'll gain more weight and stress in my life.Like the people who were old and fat in the room. She even showed me a patients arm there who was really light. I told her ok and saw she had a chicken in a black plastic case. I was like Ooo~ chicken~ Than took it and bit it. But it was really nasty cause the meat was like a squishy ball of fat, so i spit it out. Than we left the room together and went back to the place where she was setting up for the party. I saw the cookie monster a few other people there. I was going to get some chips but i decided to wash my hands first. I started to wash my hands but i woke up.*
      Last edited by DreamCafe11; 10-27-2015 at 12:36 AM.
      "Be the best You, you can be...Relax...Listen...Imagine...*Silence*...Zzzzz"

      DreamCafe11----DawnEye11
      DreamBuddy-Jadegreen

    3. #3
      Member Achievements:
      Tagger Second Class 1000 Hall Points 3 years registered
      Rodrodrod's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2013
      Gender
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      278
      Likes
      305
      I dunno much about spirit guides or dream guides, but ever since I started lucid dreaming - from my very first which was wolf themed, I then begun encoutering a white wolf that would appear in my dreams subsequentialy. Usually in non lucids but I did meet it in a lucid and learned how to transform into one and it did help me with a puzzling question I had at the time. Anyways, I noticed that it would appear in my dreams depending on certain times in my life when I was focusing on certaing things. Particularly, when relationships was a big theme in my life. But that's just one theme. So it would come and go just like that. It's pretty interersting because I had never looked at spirit animals or anything of the sort before this started occuring. I then also started noticing wolf themed things appearing in my waking life from time to time and they often felt like guidance of decisions I was making in my life.

      Never really had a reoccuring DC that would talk to me, teach me dream control and possess unlimited dream powers as is often experienced by people. Had to learn it all on my own!
      RebelSeven likes this.
      "One is loved because one is loved. No reason is needed for loving."

      The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho

    4. #4
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV 1000 Hall Points Tagger First Class Veteran Second Class Vivid Dream Journal
      Psionik's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      LD Count
      Hundreds...
      Gender
      Posts
      397
      Likes
      435
      DJ Entries
      85
      I'm not sure what to think about them. I managed to summon guide to me only once during one OBE and once he saw me, he ran away with mad cackling Sometimes I hear something like inner voice during OBE when I'm trying to do something and I struggle with it. Or sometimes I feel or hear something from inside saying- "you did good; that could be done better"- Like evaluation of my actions... It could be my subconscious mind , or higher mind... Or some kind of invisible guide
      Because I have problem with interaction with LD or OBE entities it is hard to say something about their origin. Why are they most often trying not to be in my vicinity? I'm not sure why... it is indiscriminate- either demonic or angelic looking and felt beings just keep distance.

    5. #5
      Member Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal 1 year registered

      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      26
      Likes
      10
      DJ Entries
      5
      I don't seem to have a set dream guide. Reflecting back at dreams I remember I may have had various characters seeming to play the role as guides. Usually it seems to be just for the dream, not a permanent guide.

      - Old man teaching me how to fly- one of the first I recognized. I was a teenager at the time of the dream.
      - Female grey wolf - kept me from freezing overnight in a snowy forest in a dream by wrapping herself around me. She disappeared as soon as the dream character woke up in the dream.
      - Dark bluish Eastern-western hybrid type dragon - most recent. Carrying, helping me get from one place to another. I guess to fight other dragons (though it didn't help me in the fight itself) I guess to fight my own mental challenges.
      - a spider and an ant another recent dream. One was helping me try to contain bugs in a jar and the other was helping them break free. It seemed the dream was a battle between these two. I don't know which one was the right one.
      - invisible God like voice that speaks or does telepathically. I don't see this character. It seems to tell me what I am allowed to or not allowed to do in whatever reality the dream set. If I act beyond or try to control the dream too much, then it scolds me and may take away some privileges in my dream control. If I argue or fight with it, then it resets my dream. Sometimes I can use this reset to alter things in the dream or break out of a repeating sequence, sometimes not. Sometimes the repeat itself hinders me from doing much other than accept the events in the dream as they play. I get to go over it and analyze it in future dreams or as I wake up. It seems if I can figure these out, they have some relevance to my struggles in waking life.

      Other characters that may be guides in my dreams? These are reoccurring. I can't seem to summon them. They just appear. When they do appear, they alter the dream.

      - bus driver or taxi driver. On some rare dreams an airplane pilot. I seldom get to interact with them. They seem mostly concerned in getting me from one dream scene to another. The bus often becomes a dream scene in itself. One taxi driver I did get to talk with somewhat. I don't remember much of the conversation with her.
      - Lady with black hair. She seems to have written books, a professional photographer, artist. She's always successful and seems well known. I'm reading, viewing or hearing about her works. I'm jealous or envious of her stuff. I'm tempted to write down or copy what she does, afraid to because it isn't mine. Right after I think through this process, I start to I realize that I am in a dream and the creation she has done is mine. Her creations have been mine all along. Sadly I can never remember her works when I wake up. Her written work also helps to set up my dream scenes, whenever I am reading one of her stories.
      - various shop owners or employees trying to sell me stuff or I approach in various dreams. Usually budget minded I don't buy the merchandise they offer. I realize I have no money in the dream world so I either refuse, try to barter, or steal the stuff. If I steal, I don't get in trouble, but I don't feel good about it either. I end up putting the stuff back or abandoning the dream scene.

      - water. A friend pointed that out. Most of my dreams contain it in some form. I should probably take more note of it, though once I connected it with my mental stream of consciousness and emotions, it seems to have faded a bit more as a background element.
      Last edited by BugFolk; 11-11-2015 at 05:51 PM.
      RebelSeven likes this.

    6. #6
      Dreaming Bunnies Achievements:
      1000 Hall Points Created Dream Journal Made lots of Friends on DV Tagger First Class Veteran Second Class
      lucidbunnie's Avatar
      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      LD Count
      Numerous
      Gender
      Location
      Multiple Realities
      Posts
      310
      Likes
      414
      DJ Entries
      7
      I believe I have a "guide" or a "guardian" of sorts that have helped me out in tight spots. I'm quite a dreamer, but I had only few lucids so far and most of them had become nightmares. My "guardian" takes the form of aquatic creatures sometimes as beautiful colorful golden fish-like creature and other times as sort of a mermaid. However, most often I don't "see" this guardian and just know that I been helped out by some sort of highly conscious entity. After I regain my lucidity and try to expand my skills, I'll try meeting my "guardian". I have a feeling it might be recently departed my significant other. Of course, that's wishful thinking on my part.

    7. #7
      Member Achievements:
      1000 Hall Points 3 years registered
      VinceField's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      310
      Likes
      374
      I've had quite a few beings (always human-looking) lead me to to various places and into various experiences during my out-of-body travels, both as a result of making a request to meet a guide and at random times when the thought never even crossed my mind. I was even pulled out of my body on many occasions by beings who would then drag me around to various locations. The identity of these individuals is usually not revealed, although I often feel a strong bond, like a loving friendship with them. It is certainly possible that these are independent entities, although it is also possible that at least some of the time they are projections of one's own self.

    8. #8
      Member Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal 1 year registered

      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      26
      Likes
      10
      DJ Entries
      5
      I notice when I am traveling with people in dreams it seems there are usually about two other characters. I may or may not see them. It may just be my awareness that I am not alone in a dream scene. I'm kind of wondering if they represent the different elements of my self. Emotional, intellectual/intuitive and spiritual? It seems on my non lucid dreams it is the emotional self, the least developed of myself doing the pov. There is no logic. Just the scenes and my reaction to them. Sometimes the thought and emotional self will be bended and I get one or two people. I become aware of my thoughts in my dream. The spiritual self = the God like thing directing the dream?? I don't know. This was a rather recent thought I've been going on since the middle of this year. It seems the more lucid I am, the more the three characters blend into my POV as one person. I may or may not be aware of other characters in my dream. A recent trend (2 recent dreams) seems to be me having to run errands for those characters to progress to the next dream scene.

    9. #9
      Listener Achievements:
      Created Dream Journal Tagger First Class Referrer Bronze 1000 Hall Points Populated Wall Veteran First Class
      RebelSeven's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Gender
      Location
      Koholint Island
      Posts
      410
      Likes
      296
      DJ Entries
      59
      For the past couple years I've worked really hard at recalling dialogue in my dreams, I think this has lead to often meeting DC's with really interesting and provocative things to say. Here's an example:

      I went into the next building I saw.

      there was a professor and one student hanging out, chatting. They nodded at me but didn't stop their conversation. This classroom was well lit, and had three walls of chalkboard around. I inspected the scribblings on them and realized I was in a philosophy classroom. I pointed out my approval of the teachers including a particular philosopher in his section on existentialism.

      "See, this is what I like to see," He says to the other student and gesturing at me, "only ONE student bothers to show up to class and here the new girl pops in and cares more about the nature of reality than all the rest of them!"

      This makes me smile wickedly. "You think you know much about the nature of reality, huh?" I ask the professor. He puffs his chest up a bit, smiling.
      "Yeah actually, it's my life's work, you know" I sit down at a desk near them.
      "But what if you've only existed for the last two minutes?" I ask, he thinks about this with a furrowed brow.
      "Well, that leaves a lot unexplained." he said
      "Like, If I have only lived for the last two minutes, how did he know to come to class," pointing at the student, who is listening with interest, and then the teacher grins, making me laugh out loud in genuine delight.
      He adds "but in any case, philosophy is my life's work, either way, even if it's only been two minutes." I stand up to shake his hand in genuine respect, but nod in the students direction and say "He's only been here two minutes too."
      I turn and walk back out of the classroom, I decide to do an internal recap of the dream thus far, but wake up while trying to remember further back.
      Rodrodrod and Patience108 like this.

    Similar Threads

    1. 'Homosexuality cure' and secular studies?
      By Idolfan in forum Extended Discussion
      Replies: 71
      Last Post: 11-07-2009, 04:57 PM
    2. Something contacting me... weird
      By opaque in forum Lucid Experiences
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 12-20-2007, 04:13 PM
    3. About contacting someone through...
      By Trixxx in forum General Dream Discussion
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 11-28-2007, 12:15 AM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •