• Lucid Dreaming - Dream Views




    Results 1 to 4 of 4
    1. #1
      Oneironaut DreamBliss's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      13
      Gender
      Location
      Lost on the Way...
      Posts
      408
      Likes
      99
      DJ Entries
      11

      Exclamation Writing a review for, "Hinduism in America" by John Ankerberg and John Weldon - need some advice

      OK so I have opened discussions, as I have touched upon in another thread, with an older gentleman in my church. I have chosen him because my questions will not shake his faith and he thoroughly knows the Bible. He gave me a terrible book entitled, "Hinduism In America." Basically the whole text are some "Christian" men bashing yoga and Hinduism, with little or no experience or basis in the Bible. I have been using a dictation program to transcribe my notes. So this thing is not formatted all the way yet. You will find it here: Art Email.zip. If you have a few moments and a monumental amount of patience could you take a look and give me your thoughts? I want to try to refrain from attacking here. I just want to open this man's eyes to the problems with this text - that's it.

      Appreciate your help!
      - DreamBliss
      Last edited by DreamBliss; 02-12-2012 at 11:42 PM.
      Your resistance to something,
      Is the only power it has over you.
      This too, will pass.


      My Blog

      My Zen Photography

    2. #2
      Member
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      LD Count
      300+
      Gender
      Location
      United Kingdon
      Posts
      143
      Likes
      42
      I have engaged in similar debates with similar characters in the past. The issue that I always find is that the two incompatible statements are "I have chosen him because my questions will not shake his faith and he thoroughly knows the Bible" and "I want to try to refrain from attacking here. I just want to open this man's eyes to the problems with this text - that's it."

      This man's belief system has been built and self-reinforced year upon year. His belief system can not remain intact whilst at the same time his eyes becoming opened and his ignorance being challenged. His belief system IS based on his own ignorance. He has never seriously questioned his belief system. I'm sure his belief system happens to largely coincide with the belief system of his parents and his local community - it's not even his own belief system, it's just a shared ignorance that he decided to subscribe to because lots of people around him conditioned him to.

      With all belief systems, those things that reinforce it are grasped on to, whilst those things that point out the gaping great holes in it, are ignored or explained away with phrases including "god moves in mysterious ways," which, whilst making for a nice sound bite, unfortunately mean absolutely nothing.

      This is an issue close to me as someone I care for just blindly bashes every belief system and religion other than his own, repeating a few quotes, phrases and "facts" that usually aren't even accurate, and just evading any other questions that he doesn't like.

    3. #3
      Oneironaut DreamBliss's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      LD Count
      13
      Gender
      Location
      Lost on the Way...
      Posts
      408
      Likes
      99
      DJ Entries
      11
      Thanks for the feedback there. I'm not challenging the guy's faith - yet. Just that stupid book he lent me. I want to try to create an unbiased view that provides a door, if you will, into other questions, with no obligation to opening or closing the door. I just want him to question the validity of the book. To understand that just because something is written by Christian authors doesn't make it automatically good. I'm just planting the seed of doubt here, not through force or hatred, but through a simple provision of information that calls the statements the authors make in their book into question. Not worried about whether or not he even pays attention. All I want out of this is to see is his response to my review. This will tell me if he is the kind of person who I can send the more challenging questions, the sort that only someone like him can answer.

      Just looking for feedback, a sort of keeping me on track, of my review, to ensure that I'm not attacking the authors, writing as they do.
      - DreamBliss
      Last edited by DreamBliss; 02-13-2012 at 09:15 AM.
      Your resistance to something,
      Is the only power it has over you.
      This too, will pass.


      My Blog

      My Zen Photography

    4. #4
      Lucid Shaman mcwillis's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      1,470
      Likes
      458
      DJ Entries
      3
      I haven't read it but Paramahansa Yogananda toured the USA in the 1920's to teach meditation. I believe the Self Realisation Fellowship centre is still running in California teaching the awesome Kriya yoga course. Interestingly his guru, Sri Yukteswar, wrote an awesome book, 'The Holy Science' outlining the fundamental unity between the Bible and the Bhagavad Gita. An excellent read.
      Last edited by mcwillis; 04-14-2012 at 01:12 AM.

    Similar Threads

    1. Looking for a review of my "methods"/Progress
      By Alucinor XIII in forum Wake Initiated Lucid Dreams (WILD)
      Replies: 7
      Last Post: 12-21-2010, 01:30 AM
    2. "Most Trusted Man in America" dies at 92
      By Oneironaut Zero in forum The Lounge
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 07-24-2009, 01:46 AM
    3. Book review: "The Lucid Dreamer", by M. Godwin
      By three and four in forum General Lucid Discussion
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 10-10-2007, 09:37 PM
    4. "Hearos" Ultimate Softness and Xtreme Review
      By SilverZero in forum Lucid Aids
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 08-01-2007, 03:24 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •