• Lucid Dreaming - Dream Views




    Results 1 to 4 of 4
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 2 Post By Sensei

    Thread: Looking for opinions and help.

    1. #1
      DEMONS, DO THEY EXIST? Achievements:
      Referrer Bronze 1 year registered 1000 Hall Points
      MariosDrougas's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      LD Count
      1
      Gender
      Location
      Thessaloniki
      Posts
      11
      Likes
      1

      Looking for opinions and help.

      I always trusted the opinions here much more than anything else around the net so I just want to ask about lucidity. I've been VERY INCONSISTENTLY trying to attain lucidity from 2013 and I feed KIND OF motivated right now because of my recent discovery. First of all, my plan to attain lucidity is: questioning reality during the day, writing dreams down, doing WBTB or an inferior version (just waking up and going back to sleep without getting much more conscious) and trying WILD when I DO get conscious.
      So my self discovery was that, after waking to a silent vibrations alarm from my phone at 4:30 yesterday I could remember my dream and even had a false awakening (it was really trippy to write my dream down in a dream and then actually wake up realising I didn't actually write the dream...). So I believe that the tiny glimpse of consciousness I gained by waking up at night (which was so brief I can't remember it clearly) made my dream recall significantly better even after months of not writing dreams down, like a cool jump-start.

      Finally, my question for you guys are:
      • Should I try WILD at night? Other sources make it sound easy but i remember clearly that it requires a lot of self discipline (which I kind of consider having).\
      • My biggest challenge has been staying motivated, do you have any tips on that?
      Last edited by MariosDrougas; 11-17-2015 at 12:17 AM.

    2. #2
      Member Achievements:
      Made lots of Friends on DV 5000 Hall Points Vivid Dream Journal Tagger First Class Populated Wall Veteran First Class
      Sensei's Avatar
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      LD Count
      6k-7k
      Gender
      Location
      The Depths
      Posts
      4,386
      Likes
      5510
      DJ Entries
      116
      It is generally easier to remember dreams if you wake from them, so waking in the night is good for dreams and LDing, it also raises awareness for future dreams, so more recall that way as well. Here is a thread I made about it.
      http://www.dreamviews.com/dream-sign...cro-wbtbs.html

      Almost everything I could say about WILD is said in these two threads:
      http://www.dreamviews.com/wake-initi...ild-guide.html
      http://www.dreamviews.com/wake-initi...ail-wilds.html

      This being said, WILD does take time and practice.

      I am a little confused because you said you have self discipline, but you also need help being motivated.
      Self Discipline
      the ability to control one's feelings and overcome one's weaknesses; the ability to pursue what one thinks is right despite temptations to abandon it.

      Motivation
      the reason or reasons one has for acting or behaving in a particular way.

      Motivation is your reasons for doing something. I think you mean staying enthusiastic, because I doubt that your motivation changes (I usually make this mistake with words too, so I am going to just answer as if you meant this and the other way)

      Enthusiasm

      intense and eager enjoyment, interest, or approval.

      Self discipline is going to help your motivations, your reasons for acting a certain way. If you are self disciplined, then it doesn't matter if your enthusiasm, comes and goes, because discipline is doing it no matter how you feel about something that day, it is a choice. You made the choice to do something, you do it. Discipline.

      I always recommend having an end date. A day that you can quit LDing. If you are just planning on LDing indefinitely, then your discipline will have a hard time, since it is just supposed to do this forever based on motivation from however long ago.
      June 12
      The day that I recheck my motivation and my aims and see if I want to continue with another day of LDing or if I should give it up. My enthusiasm changes (especially with all the crazy crap that has happened in the last 3 and a half years), but my self discipline has carried me through.

      There is no way to continually want to do things. Parenting, Working, going through school, learning anything, or Lucid Dreaming. You are always going to have moments that you don't want to get up in the night (I recommend waking for at least 2 minutes) or times that you don't feel like going to bed at night. This is why we need more than motivation, we need to dedicate ourselves fully. Is LDing worth it to you? If not, then you should give up now, if it is, then you need to do it 100%. Everything worth doing is worth doing well. Here is a thread that I made for people thinking about putting their time and effort into LDing.
      http://www.dreamviews.com/dreamviews...e-told-me.html

      Now if you will excuse me, I need to go through some old threads and change my word from motivation and put some disclaimers.

    3. #3
      DEMONS, DO THEY EXIST? Achievements:
      Referrer Bronze 1 year registered 1000 Hall Points
      MariosDrougas's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      LD Count
      1
      Gender
      Location
      Thessaloniki
      Posts
      11
      Likes
      1
      Thank you for your reply sensei. I always liked you . I do believe that what i need is staying enthusiastic but I want to prove to myself that I do have self discipline (resisting to pop pimples 2 days now...). Do you believe that if i just do those things that i said on my original post are enough for me because I don't want to go out naked but also don't want to be over prepared.

    4. #4
      Member Achievements:
      1 year registered Veteran First Class 5000 Hall Points
      Redrivertears's Avatar
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Posts
      609
      Likes
      218
      Hey there,

      First of, welcome back to lucid dreaming!

      I'm not an expert on WILD, so I'll be brief on that, but mostly I think it just requires practice and attention.

      That said, I do think that depending on the kind of sleeper you are, you may have an easier or harder time with WILD. Some people will WILD easily because of the way their bodies fall asleep, others might have an easier time with DILD or DEILD. So it may be useful to figure out which sort of lucid dreaming initiator works better for you. Ofcourse, if you really want to WILD, practicing and not giving up will get you there. That's where the self-discipline comes in, I guess.

      As for staying motivated. I stay motivated by loving my dreams. Not just the lucid ones. I have so many great memories of dreams, just as I have great memories of waking events. I wouldn't want to lose either. Each night is like a mini-holiday, and I never know where I'm going to end up. So my goal is to have great dreams. The lucid ones are just extra special, but even if I don't have them, I can still have great nights. Simply choosing to care for your dreams takes minimal effort (recall only), has great advantages when you do decide to invest more effort into lucidity, and allows you to take breaks when you need it without losing your focus on the dreams themselves.

      Just my 2 cents,

      -Redrivertears-

    Similar Threads

    1. Looking for opinions
      By Schneiderr in forum Introduction Zone
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 02-11-2008, 07:15 AM
    2. Need opinions on my sig
      By Emerald Wolf in forum Senseless Banter
      Replies: 10
      Last Post: 09-21-2007, 06:49 PM
    3. Opinions- is this appropriate
      By Rie1960 in forum General Lucid Discussion
      Replies: 21
      Last Post: 09-21-2007, 06:24 PM
    4. Want Some Opinions...
      By My_eyes_are_open in forum General Lucid Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 04-08-2007, 01:08 AM
    5. I need some opinions
      By Shanedeighton in forum Dream Signs and Recall
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 11-01-2003, 06:31 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •